My Voice, My Vote

image

Disclaimer: All facts listed in this post are true to the best of my knowledge. The intent of this post is to substantiate some of the policy issues based on my personal experience. No malice or slander is intended and should not be perceived as such. Excerpts of policy have been taken from Bernie Sanders campaign website. Full immigration plan can be accessed using this link.

I have been following this election very closely, as are most people, not just in the US but across the globe. Even those who have actively refrained from getting involved in politics in the past are finding it difficult to ignore the curent race to presidency. The world looks up to the US as a leader so when this great nation ends up with the choices for its leader as they are today, tension is palpable. Bigotry, prejudice, arrogance and, simply put, a blatant lack of decency are the foundation of some campaigns, and what’s worse is that they are gaining traction. Is this the future of America, and consequently the whole world? It’s a scary thought.

I first got interested in the Sanders campaign when I was forced to buy health insurance at what seems like exorbitant rates in my current circumstances. I am not a citizen so I was forced to go to private companies. I am a healthy, young individual with not much money to spare at the moment, so when I have to shell out $200 per month for practically no benefit, it makes my already bad situation worse. I am all for universal healthcare, but I think what we have right now is an example of a good idea poorly executed. I was immediately interested in Sanders’ single-payer plan. Reading further through the issues page on the campaign website, I found myself constantly shaking my head in agreement. And then I hit the jackpot- immigration! Today, I simply want to use my story to validate some of the points in his plan. I don’t have a right to vote, but if I can change just one person’s mind I would feel that my voice was heard.

Item 1:

image

Facts:

I am an immigrant worker on H1-B visa. Since June 2014, I have several documented communications submitted to my former employer about my workload being in excess of 300 hours per month. My requests were either left unacknowledged, or were acknowledged without a remedial action.

My story:

I continued working to the best of my ability as my employer essentially owned me. If I made too much noise and they decided to terminate me, I would lose everything.

Item 2:

image

Facts:

Admittedly, my former employer considers all non-US persons to be equal. I was given counseling by an authority figure who is neither of US origin, nor Indian, about how I ought to work with Americans.

My story:

During this ‘counseling’ session, the authority figure told me that I would “not have a future here [the company] or anywhere else” in this country. The whole discussion left me feeling humiliated and discriminated against. I reported it to my then manager who dismissed the subject as a misunderstanding on my part. I then reported the incident to the human resource department who promised to investigate but I heard nothing further on the matter. Few months later, my manager hinted that I should mend my relationship with the authority figure as this person had a lot of power and control over my fate. I was forced to apologize out of fear.

Item 3:

image

Facts:

After months of being treated unfairly, I was ultimately forced to file a formal complaint with the Divison of Human Rights. Exactly a week after I filed the complaint, I was abruptly let go.

My story:

I have been struggling ever since to maintain my legal status in this country. I have lived here for many years and this has become my home athough I wasn’t born here. I did nothing wrong, always followed the rules, but when I decided to stand up to injustice, I ended up being the one suffering. The current United States immigration system does not offer me any accommodation in these circumstances. I am nearing the end of my visa term and the only way I can continue living here is if an employer petitions for my permanent residence. I don’t even have the right to petition for myself.

This country boasts to be “the land of the free and the home of the brave“. I tried to be brave by reporting abuse, but so far it seems like I will be losing my freedom in the process- the freedom to protect my rights, to protect my dignity, to protect my life. A change is crucial if those words truly mean something to today’s Americans.

Thank you for taking the time to read this!

P

Pingback added

9 thoughts on “My Voice, My Vote

  1. How thoroughly rotten to hear in depth the way you were treated! The system seems to be terribly stacked against someone with your delicate status, which is beyond unfair. I cannot stand the way rules are set in place, yet when they are clearly violated and with documentation even, it gets brushed aside. Oh no…don’t file a claim, why don’t you just make nice with so and so. That should never be words spoken by someone to an employee. Ever! I continue to hope things fall in place for you and your work and legal status. For starters, I want to be able to meet you some day when you come back to NYC or if I ever find myself in Buffalo 🙂 Keep on fighting the fight!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Meeting you in person is certainly something I look forward to, especially if I end up leaving the country at the end of this year! We’ll figure something out 🙂
      All laws when they are written have the best of intention and are relevant to that era but over time people find loopholes and start exploiting them. Immigration is begging for reforms to make it more relevant to the present times. I am risking everything by sharing my story simply to prove that point- I hope it’s not for nothing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I certainly hope its not for nothing either. It is really unfair because inevitably it seems to favor people who are not so honest, and punish the ones who are. Hope it all comes together for you. Indeed, we’ll figure something out regardless 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How my Country continues to embarrass me! You surely understand, by now, that we live in a corporatocracy where big business gets every thing they want and workers get the “tinkle down “.
    We always hear about the problem of “illeg al” immigrants and how we must round them up, send them back and build a wall to keep them out. No one talks about punishment for employers who break the law by luring these people across the border with employment opportunities taking advantage of cheap labor, what I call “slavery lite”.
    Your account is enlightening. No one seems to mind/know that you are here, subject to the same abuses as illegals. In both cases, though, Industry loves it.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your feedback Geno. It is a sad reality but I also feel that corporations get away with doing what they do because the ordinary American has no idea what exactly is going on behind the scenes. I’m trying to start a conversation. I appreciate you taking the time to stop by and share your thoughts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

