Need Help? Try Asking Yourself!

In response to the Daily Post Prompt: Help

ChakrasWomanDescription

(Image courtesy: Celestinevision.com)

I really like the idea of Daily Prompts. It’s incredible to see how each individual interprets a word differently when there is no context. One simple word can mean so many different things to different people! When I saw today’s word the first thing that came to my mind was ‘grounding’. What does that mean? Let’s examine.

I’ve been going through some exceptionally challenging times since last year. Here is a link to the recap I did few days ago. Help has come to me in all forms and I have needed it desperately all along. I’ve had help from friends and family in staying positive. I’ve had help from my therapist in breaking free of a downward spiral of depression. I’ve had help from attorneys and other associates in employment and visa-related matters. I’ve had help from well-wishers who always sent good vibes my way, and still do. I couldn’t have made it this far without these helpers. So why didn’t I think of any one of them when I read the word ‘help’?

All the people I named above are external to me. No matter how much they care, or how badly they want to, they can never fully understand everything that I’m going through. And it’s not because it’s me, it’s because we are all unique individuals and no one can understand us better than our own selves. It holds true for everyone. I am sure I cannot understand a friend’s problems the way he/she understands them. We are all complex creatures, and knowingly or unknowingly, we control how much of ourselves we expose to others. Like I said in a previous post, I shared very little with friends and family. I shared a little bit more with my therapist, and I shared completely different concerns with professionals. I controlled how well they understood what was going on with me at a deeper level. We all do that.

Writing this blog has been another great help, because it closely serves the purpose of introspection; most commonly, it is the outcome of introspection. It helps me clear my thoughts and understand myself better. As I was learning to navigate through the darkness that had enveloped my world, I stumbled upon meditation. Meditation helped me clear out all the noise and listen to only what matters- the voice of my soul. When I meditate, I take plenty of time to focus on my chakras, specifically the root, the solar plexus and the third eye (see image above). These chakras help me in finding my purpose. They help me reassure myself of my value in this world, no matter how insignificant it might be to someone else. They remind me that I am a person and that I am important to me. They also help me see the light at the end of the tunnel. The third eye is supposed to strengthen intuition. I don’t claim that it turns a person into a seer of the future. What it does instead is to reinforce the idea that good things will follow. When going gets tough, we often hear people repeating platitudes such as “night is darkest before the dawn“, or that we are being “tested” by an unknown, unseen force. We nod our heads and agree. But how many times do we really, truly agree? Again, they don’t know exactly what we’re going through. They don’t know that my night actually just got darker! Why am I being tested when that guy over there is a complete profligate and I was actually living a moral life? The point is, banal sympathies only help to an extent before losing effectiveness. When we learn to look inward, the encouragement comes from deep within our soul, and that counts! What intuition tells me is not that my troubles are over, or that I will win a lottery next week. It tells me that no matter what comes next, I’ll weather it, and soon troubles will pass. And until better days arrive, I have enough strength to hold on to hope.

This to me is the meaning of grounding- feeling connected with myself and the world around, knowing that I am capable of overcoming anything that life throws at me- the oneness of mind, body and soul. If we lose hope, we stand to lose everything. But no one else can give us hope. It is something we need to find ourselves. It lies within each of our hearts and all we need to do is to tap into it, and build a lasting bond with our inner selves. I have chosen meditation. Someone else might be able to connect with themselves through art, or nature, or simply by sitting in a quiet room. The important thing to remember is this: if you ever need help, ask yourself first!

P

 

9 thoughts on “Need Help? Try Asking Yourself!

  1. First I really like the way you put that in describing your ‘helpers’ and why you did not think of them right away when hearing the word. I never thought about it that way but your description of why really rang true for me and I’m thankful you put it in those kind of terms. I’m also thankful to read yet another perspective on meditation. My wife and I have both been talking about trying it and I think we may try a course soon together. I’m feeling like it may be beneficial and hearing your testimony and experiences with it confirms that. I spend a lot of time just thinking but it is mostly a jumble of ideas swimming around. Most of the time its silly stuff, or blog ideas, but sometimes its serious stuff weighing me down. Another blogger friend gave me a career orientated book I am working my way through, with lots of exercises to find what my focus should be. So between that and this advice and experience you are working through and sharing, I think I have lots of new areas to explore from within my ‘soul’.

    Thank you for this awesome post

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for leaving such a wonderful comment- I am truly humbled that I was able to help you in some way 🙂
    I have been recommending meditation to everyone I come across. Like I described in the post, the difference for me has been noticeable and dramatic, and it is definitely something to try. I hope it brings you and your wife as much benefit as it has me! You’ll have to let me know once you’re few weeks into the practice about your experience!!
    The career book sounds like a great exercise! My best wishes are always with you, I’m sure you’ll find your ‘calling’ 🙂
    Again, thanks for your encouraging words!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are more than welcome! You would figure I would know my calling pushing 48 like I am but I have been aimless. But reading and writing, and being expressive with my art is steering me towards something new. Always appreciate your support and I’ll let you know!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ‘Age is just a number’- might be a cliche but it’s still very true! It doesn’t matter when we figure things out but that we never stop trying. And so much changes with time, what might have been ideal once may not be so now; self-discovery is an ongoing process!
        Your photography and writing are beautiful! Maybe that’s where your heart is 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you as always. You are right of course. I don’t lament anything. It is what it is and I can’t go back in time to change anything. I do feel like the writing and the photography are where my heart lies now. I hope to find that path I want to be on now. Having friends like you who are so supportive is a beautiful thing and I feel lucky. Thank you 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. @Robert- I think that’s as far as the thread goes, so I have to respond with a new comment…
    You are very welcome, and I wish you all the success in whatever path you choose to follow, and I’ll always be a supporter 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

