Daddy’s Girl, Who Knew!

image

I almost wanted to take a break from writing today. But too bad for those of you who are tired to see email notifications from me daily, it’s November, and with me being a brand new blogger, I have to, HAVE TO, do this challenge. So sorry for monopolizing your mailbox with my new post updates and here are some musings from just another day in my life :D.

I took my graduate record examination today, remember my grand plan of getting a doctorate?! For someone who signed up for the exam just last week, I think I did well (read: I could’ve done better, that’s just an excuse I’m giving myself ;)). Anyway, I think I’ve managed to make the cut off for Yale, although barely, but a good statement of purpose, and outstanding recommendations might help me reserve a spot for myself in the prestigious Ivy League institute, we’ll see. It certainly is overambitious of me but I want to aim high and see where I land, not settle for what’s easily attainable.

I am especially missing my dad today. My dad and I have something of a tradition going back many years now- he is the first person I speak to as soon as I get done with an exam. It started when I was in high school. In Indian education system, all students have to go through nationwide subject-based standardized testing, once to qualify to start high school and pick a career stream (yes, as early as that- there is no such thing as undecided in India), and once more to graduate. These exams are very exhaustive and arduous, and most times they are the crux of a  student’s academic pursuits. They can be likened to SAT’s, but I’ve taken both and I can tell you that the board exams, as they are called, are a beast!

Now that you can imagine the palpable stress this 2-week long marathon event called the boards imposed on young minds, my dearest daddy with a heart of jell-o would make sure he drove me to my test center himself so that I didn’t have to deal with any other stressors :). Consequently, he would also come to pick me up. As a habit, I never take the entire allocated time for a test, because very rarely do I review my responses before turning in the paper. So I like to leave early and avoid any discussions with other test-takers- good or bad, this is how I’ve always been and for most part it has worked for me. So the first person I saw after my exams was my dad. Even when I was off at college, my dad would start expecting my call about 30 minutes before the designated finish time for any given test.

It has been a very long time since I took an exam, over five years now. As usual, I had signed out 25 minutes early. As I started walking towards my car, my first instinct was to call my dad, I took out my phone and dialed his number. He didn’t answer, he was probably already asleep by then. I haven’t had a chance to speak with him yet. At 30 years old, I think I’m still my daddy’s little girl 🙂

I couldn’t find a better picture of the two of us. I have spent, give or take, 3 months with him in the last 9 years. This one was taken during my sister’s wedding last year. The last time I saw him, I didn’t have the phone that I do now so the pictures are saved away somewhere on a hard drive!

P

4 thoughts on “Daddy’s Girl, Who Knew!

  1. First congratulations on the test. I hope you get the results you are looking for. Who am I kidding..I know you will. Second that is very interesting about testing in India. I was not aware of that. Third I love your test taking tradition and I am sorry the streak with your dad was broken like that. But you are doing great, I love that you are charging this head on!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, Robert! And I’m grateful for the vote of confidence. Needless to say, you all find out where I land eventually 🙂
    Education system in India is highly competitive, and screaming for a change. Children commit suicide over board results- it’s a sad reality.
    I finally got to speak to my dad before going to bed. He woke up, saw he had missed a call from me and knew right away what it meant 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is my pleasure and I look forward to hearing those results. I don’t doubt that about the competitive side to Indian education. What you say is indeed very sad. One would hope that someday the stigma on poor results is not so bad that suicide would be an option. 😦

    I’m so glad you spoke to your dad! I was thinking that actually even though there is that time difference and it is not the same as when you were younger, he still was the most important person you passed on the news to. I’m so happy to hear that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

