Why do I blog- the transformation…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Million-Dollar Question.”

Update: corrections about The Mount, and my apologies for the erroneous assumption

When I started my blog, I thought it would be worthwhile to have a mission statement- why do I blog- so I wrote my first post Why here and why now to let my prospective readers know why I decided to start a blog and why I decided to do it now. Since the day I wrote that first post, up until this day, my reasons have been constantly evolving. My 10-post look-back jibber jabber… is one example of this organic transformation.

Disclaimer: some of the links to my older posts may not work at this time. As I have previously alluded to a certain problem I am currently facing, I thought it would be prudent to take down some material preemptively. I have expressed nothing but facts, and my opinions on certain matters here, and I don’t want to invite any trouble 🙂 Hopefully, I’d be able to restore the content soon.

To be honest, I have stopped keeping count of how many posts I have written since then. So I don’t know the number, but since post number 11 to now, I’ve undergone another transformation. Now I write because I have built a feeling of camaraderie with my fellow-bloggers. It feels like writing post cards to long distance friends, or letters to pen-pals- do kids now even know what pen-pals are, or do they have ‘keyboard’-pals now?! 🤓 I think they’ve expanded the definition of a pen-pal to include emails and online chats now, oh well! There’s that supernatural world again that I wrote about earlier…

I have come to follow some of my fellow-bloggers as I draw strength and inspiration from them. I’ve already said how some of them are now my friends, but I want to dedicate this post to The Mount. You can follow his her blog here. Now, I was raised in a mixed religion household with a Hindu mom and Jain dad (Jainism is akin to Buddhism), and I went to a Catholic school. So I don’t associate with any one particular religion. It is always my sincere attempt to imbibe the best from every religion and every culture that I come in contact with and stay true to the basic scruples of goodness, kindness and honesty. So I don’t follow his her blog because of my religious outlook but because his her words help me draw strength and courage in times of need. Logic is a good thing, hand-on-heart I’d love to be a Vulcan 🖖 but in this life at least we’re humans, and as humans we also need faith. We may choose to call it by different names, often times God, but all said and done, it is what makes us strong when the line between black and white is blurred and when logic seems futile.

Being a blogger is not only helping me express myself but it is also helping me broaden my outlook. I never considered myself parochial but I am learning so much more each day. I am amazed at how similar we are as human beings even if we seem outwardly different! I hope that one day we can become a society that is wise enough to look beyond the superficial man-made barriers that we have created over centuries, and learn to appreciate each other and seek the best in each other. Too philosophical?! Deal with it, I do have a solemn side, you know 😛

There’s nothing solemn about sitting against Universal Studio backdrop, but that’s the only picture I could find where I don’t have a grin pasted on my face, only a small smile 😉

image

P

12 thoughts on “Why do I blog- the transformation…

  1. As I think I have mentioned by now with some of your other posts, I love that you are just saying everything on your mind. Understandable that you wish to hide some of them now, but in a short time it has been refreshing seeing you write what is on your mind. My blogs are what is on my mind…but in a way that is built around my thoughts on the song I am sharing and my own photography. You, just say it like you mean it which is why I have liked and commented on almost all of them I think. I very much share in that feeling of camaraderie with other bloggers, yourself included. In the last two months, other than promoting my blog on the Facebook page for my blog, I barely do anything else on there. I’d much rather read and comment on other blogs. So yes, I very much feel that keyboard pal type of feeling. Great phrase by the way 🙂

    Looking forward to reading more as always 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am most humbled and touched by your appreciation ☺️ I don’t want to write simply to please someone else. I want to write to express myself. But I also don’t want to write something that hurts someone else. I don’t think I have ever been offensive or dismissive of anything or anyone in my writing. I share facts and discuss my own thoughts about them. But the last thing I want is for someone to misuse my words, and against me, so I’m practicing caution. I love writing and I don’t want it stained with politics 🙂
      Thank you for your comments, they mean a lot to me, and thank you for your friendship 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I understand what you mean about your own expression. I certainly would say that nothing I have read thus far from you is offensive. It is you speaking your mind. I can understand the caution. Comments can unfortunately be tainted with misunderstanding so I appreciate the caution. Thank you for your blog friendship as well 😄

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Omg, I will have to make that correction in my blog. And I am sorry, it’s such a bad habit to simply use ‘he’ when we’re not aware who the other person is 😌 Thank you for reblogging this- it is an honor 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for these beautiful and soul building words about my blog. I am so pleased to see that the words I wish to share are being received in such wonderful ways. 🙂

    Like

  3. Reading about someone who is going through changes and embracing them head on is something I love doing. It’s not everyday that people share about themselves and I find it beautiful because it feels like finally they are in love with their own beauty… ❤ Good going girl 🙂 Wish you a thrilling and happy ride in your 30s. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you! It has been a while since I found inspiration to write, so your encouragement has come just at the right time 🙂
      I have learned that by opening up to others I have actually made more friends than critics. I’m still fighting but I know there are a lot of people rooting for me! I’ll keep pressing on and hoping for the best!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

