Cliches are cliches because they’ve been proven right over and over…

It’s day 2 and I have managed to find the time and inspiration to be here again, yay 🙂

This time around I am sitting in a coffee shop, listening to the spa radio station on Pandora, very zen, and working on my ‘statement of purpose’- yes, I’m planning to go back to school. After this, I am going to meet with my immigration attorney to make sure it’s ok for me to go back to school.

After having finished the first 150 words or so of my SOP, I paused for a minute to reflect on my life thus far. My purpose, that’s a very challenging subject to talk about. On a very high level, I simply want to live a good life- a life founded in kindness, generosity, honesty and compassion. I don’t ever want to stop growing, not saying I want to be a giant, you know what I mean 😛 but I don’t want to be hustled around, coerced into doing things in the name of growth. The decision to go back to school seemed that way in the beginning.

Due to change in my circumstances, going back to school was my last resort to maintain a legal residence here- an expensive option too. I tried avoiding it as much as possible but as time went on and all other doors were slamming in my face one after another, it seemed like the only way out. After much consideration I decided I was going to do it.

I believe in organic growth- learning things on the job, letting my career make its own course. But now that I have been looking at schools and programs, I realize this is actually a good thing. There are so many unique programs out there, so much that piques my interest and makes me want to learn more! So now, not only am I excited about going back to school, I am going to go all the way and get a doctorate 🤓 I’ll try to anyway, and give it my best!

I haven’t got much time so I’ll keep it brief. I would have never considered going back to school had I not been forced to. I guess laws of physics hold true in day-to-day life too- a body at rest continues to stay at rest (same for body in motion) unless acted upon by an external force. So maybe I had stopped growing, maybe I was cruising through life at a slow pace, and now that I have been jostled by an external force that is out of my sphere of influence, I am going to move faster. I am not going to resist it but go with the flow because now I see that moving, even if at times it’s at a pace faster than what I would’ve liked, or in a direction I didn’t think I’d take, is still serving the ultimate purpose of helping me grow!

So yes, it’s a cliche that everything happens for a reason, good one too, but trust me, it is true 😀

P

9 thoughts on “Cliches are cliches because they’ve been proven right over and over…

  1. Wow! You went all in on this one (for understandable reasons). A doctorate! Now that is really something great. Sending you lots of positive vibes and support right now with this. I often think I should suck it up and go back but the time, cost and energy saps my will to do it. But if you are happy, I couldn’t be happier for you. Congratulations!!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Following back 🙂 loved your piece about China’s one-child policy change. You have a gripping story and I like how you’re honest and straightforward in sharing your views on the subject- keep it up!!

          Like

Leave a Reply

